PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.
This is an in-depth guide to Florida Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Florida’s laws.
Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.
Is License and Registration a Requirement? For LSVs, yes. For Golf Carts, no (unless the golf cart has been modified into a LSV. Registration information on modified Golf Carts can be found HERE and the Affidavit HERE).
General Federal Law for Golf Carts:
Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.
The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.
Florida Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws
Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)
A golf cart must be equipped with efficient brakes, reliable steering apparatus, safe tires, a rearview mirror, and red reflectorized warning devices in both the front and rear.
Operating a golf cart on public roads is prohibited unless the road has been determined safe by local jurisdiction to be used by golf carts. In this case, there will be appropriate golf cart signs, etc.
Golf carts may only operate on streets with posted speed limits of 30 MPH and under. Golf carts may, however, cross streets with posted speed limits of 45 MPH and under- just not drive them.
Golf carts may only travel during daytime unless the local government has authorized night driving and the golf cart is equipped with headlights, brake lights, turn signals, and a windshield. Then, it may be used at night.
Golf carts may not be operated on public roads or streets by persons under the age of 14.
Golf carts are only allowed a max speed of 20 MPH or less.
For more information on golf carts and roadways/equipment visit this link HERE.
UPDATE (04-16-18), Gulf Breeze: Golf Carts will be allowed to operate on all streets in Gulf Breeze, FL. The golf carts will need to be registered with the city and vehicles should be equipped with safety features required by state law. This equipment includes brake lights, headlights, turn signals, windshields, and reflective devices. If you live in Gulf breeze, it is recommended that you reach out to your local government for more information on this.
Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)
- Reaches speeds of 20 MPH to 25 MPH.
- Has a vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Front and rear turn signals
- Stop lamps
- Reflex reflectors, red – one on each side and one on the rear
- Exterior mirror on the driver side and an interior mirror or exterior mirror on passenger side
- Parking brake
- Seatbelt for each designated seat
- Not be operated on any roadway with a speed limit above 35 mph.
Any person operating a low-speed vehicle (LSV) must have in their possession a valid driver license. An LSV must also be registered and insured with Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability.
What You Need to Bring to the DMV to Register Your LSV
- The Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin
- Form HSMSV 82040 (Application for Title)
- Proof of Florida insurance, minimum $10,000 Property Damage and $10,000 Personal Injury Protection
- Identification, driver license or identification card or passport
- Applicable fees (a. Title fee – $75.25 to $85.25 b. Plate fee – $28 or plate to transfer c. Initial Registration Fee – $225 (if applicable) d. Registration fee varies by weight of vehicle)
For more on LSVs in Florida GO HERE.
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.