New Mexico Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Last updated on March 2nd, 2017

PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.

This is an in-depth guide to New Mexico Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining New Mexico’s laws.

Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.

Is License and Registration a Requirement? For both LSVs and Golf Carts, Yes. Liability insurance is also required.

General Federal Law for Golf Carts:

Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.

The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

For more information on the federal laws pertaining to golf carts, please click here.

 

New Mexico Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)

Golf Carts are considered Slow Moving Vehicles and need to display a Slow Moving Emblem or flashing amber light.

Other Golf Cart related are laws are not very clear. Please reach out to your local municipality for further information on New Mexico golf cart laws.

 

Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)

  • Reaches speeds of 20 MPH to 25 MPH.
  • Has a vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • Headlamps
  • Front and rear turn signals
  • Taillamps
  • Stop lamps
  • Reflex reflectors, red – one on each side and one on the rear
  • Exterior mirror on the driver side and an interior mirror or exterior mirror on passenger side
  • Parking brake
  • Windshield
  • Seatbelt for each designated seat
  • Not be operated on any roadway with a speed limit above 35 mph.

Any person operating a low-speed vehicle (LSV) must have in their possession a valid driver license. An LSV must also be registered and insured with Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability.

INDUSTRY NEWS

POLARIS LAUNCHES NEW GEMS WITH PREMIUM STYLE AND FUN FOR CRUISING NEIGHBORHOODS

All-electric, street-legal GEM low-speed vehicles are now offered with new personal customization ANAHEIM, CA (April 12, 2021) — GEM, an all-electric premium offering in personal...

YAMAHA GOLF-CAR COMPANY’S DRIVE2 QUIETECH® AWARDED 2021 GOLF DIGEST EDITORS’ CHOICE AWARD FOR BEST...

KENNESAW, GA (March 30, 2021) — Golf Digest recently announced their annual Editor’s Choice Awards winners and Yamaha Golf-Car Company’s Drive2 QuieTech® vehicle was...

RELION BATTERY ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENT OF CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

Global lithium battery company names accomplished business leader Eric Lindquist as COO CHARLOTTE, NC (April 14, 2021) – RELiON Battery, a leading global lithium battery...

MERYL COOK LEADS FLOW-RITE MARKETING TEAM

Flow-Rite, a leading manufacturer of injection-molded fluid control products, has hired Meryl Cook as its new senior marketing manager. Todd Hart, company president, made...

RED HAWK INDIANAPOLIS DISTRIBUTION CENTER BECOMES FULLY OPERATIONAL

Red Hawk’s latest addition to its expanding distribution network is now fully integrated into its operations, the company announced. The 50,000 square foot Indianapolis,...

BATTERIES PLUS ANNOUNCES PARTNERSHIP WITH RELION BATTERY

Retailer will offer RELiON lithium batteries in over 170 stores across the U.S. CHARLOTTE, NC, and HARTLAND, WI (February 18, 2021) –  In celebration of National...

Disclaimer
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.

Recent News & Helpful Articles

Cape Coral Florida is considering new city ordinances for golf cars

According to WinkNews.com, the Cape Coral City Council is considering a ban to community members...
Golf Cart Shipping

Tips and Advice for Shipping your Golf Cart

How to Get Your Golf Cart Across the Country Without Having to Leave Your House ...
Golf Cart Dealer

Golf Cart Repair Near Me | Find a Local Golf Car Dealer

As a golf cart owner, you want your golf cart in tip-top condition. To achieve...
Club Car Precedent Review

Club Car Precedent 48V Intermittent Problem

Club Car Precedent 48v Intermittent Problem Question: I have a 2012 Club Car Precedent 48v electric...
how Much should I pay for a golf cart

How Much Do Golf Carts Cost? Find 2020 Golf Cart Prices Here

Overall, Golf Cart prices can range anywhere between $1,000 for a Used Golf Cart and...