Wyoming Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws
Last updated on March 2nd, 2017
Last updated on March 2nd, 2017
PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.
This is an in-depth guide to Wyoming Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Wyoming’s laws.
Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.
Is License and Registration a Requirement? If being used as a Multipurpose Vehicle, yes.
Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.
The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
For more information on the federal laws pertaining to golf carts, please click here.
Wyoming Laws are not very clear on the permitting of golf carts on Public Roads. We will do our best to interpret their laws, but PLEASE reach out to your local Wyoming municipality to find a definite answer.
Golf cart” means a motor vehicle which:
“Multipurpose vehicle” means a motor vehicle that is designed to travel on at least 4 wheels in contact with the ground, has an unladen weight of at least 300 pounds but less than 3,000 pounds, has a permanent upright seat or saddle for the driver which is mounted at least 24 inches from the ground and has an identifying number.
“Multipurpose vehicle” includes off-road recreational vehicles, electric powered vehicles, golf carts when being used other than as provided in above listed codes, is being used other than to transport an occupant directly to, or from or on a golf course, or is being used for special events or circumstances authorized by the city, town or county, and any motor vehicle meeting the criteria of this sub-paragraph and not otherwise defined in this section.
If a person is operating a golf cart solely to and from a golf course pursuant to above codes, they are not required to have a Drivers’ License. However, if the golf cart is registered as an MPV, the driver will have to have a valid Drivers’ License even if operating it to and from a golf course. It is known one or more municipalities in Wyoming permit the use of golf cars on their public streets.
Low Speed Vehicles are allowed on non-interstate highways on which the vehicle is capable of achieving the maximum speed limit. The state of Wyoming has not made their Low Speed Vehicle laws very prevalent so it is best for you to reach out to your local municipality for further information.
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.