This is an in-depth guide to Idaho Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Idaho’s laws.
Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.
Is License and Registration a Requirement? For Golf Carts, No. For Low-Speed Vehicles and Neighborhood Electric Vehicles, Yes.
General Federal Law for Golf Carts:
Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.
The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.
Idaho Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws
Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)
Registration is not required for Golf Carts. Golf Cart Laws in Idaho are VERY vague. We will update this page as we find out more. Please see below for Low-Speed Vehicles.
Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)
Low-Speed Vehicles are for use on roads with speed limits of 35MPH or less and must be registered with valid license plates and carry minimum liability insurance. A driver’s license is also required.
Operation of an NEV on a highway shall be allowed as provided in section 49-663, Idaho Code.
The following is required for LSVs:
- 4 wheels
- Electrically powered
- 20 mph – 25 mph
- Turn Signals
- Tail lamps
- Stop lamps
- Reflectors – one red on each side to the rear
- Mirrors – Must have a mirror on the drivers side of the vehicle and at least one additional mirror located on either the passengers side or in the center of the vehicle (a rearview mirror) that must reflect a distance of at least 200 feet
- Parking Brake
- Seat belts
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.