Oklahoma Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws
Last updated on June 9th, 2017
Last updated on June 9th, 2017
PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.
This is an in-depth guide to Oklahoma Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Oklahoma’s laws.
Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? Yes. Medium Speed Vehicles may travel on roads with posted speed limits of 45 MPH or less and may not travel above speeds of 35 MPH.
Is License and Registration a Requirement? For LSVs and Medium Speed Vehicles, both License and Registration is required.
Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.
The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
For more information on the federal laws pertaining to golf carts, please click here.
PLEASE CHECK WITH YOUR LOCAL MUNICIPALITY BEFORE OPERATING YOUR GOLF CART ON PUBLIC STREETS AND ROADS.
GOLF CARTS MAY NOT EXCEED SPEEDS OF 20 MPH.
THESE LAWS DO NOT APPLY TO SPEED MODIFIED GOLF CARTS.
YOU MAY ONLY OPERATE A GOLF CART DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS.
Golf Carts may operate on state highways only if making a perpendicular crossing in the county that has adopted an ordinance governing the operation of golf carts.
Otherwise, the golf cart may only be operated on roadways with a speed limit of 25 MPH or less and located in an unincorporated area.
There must be appropriate signage, cautioning motorists of the possibility of a golf cart or utility vehicle traffic, is erected by the board of county commissioners.
The driver of the golf cart must be at least 16 years of age. If the driver is between the ages of 12 and 16 then the driver must successfully complete a golf cart safety education course or pass a proctored equivalency examination which tests the knowledge of information included in the curriculum of such course.
After completion, the driver will receive a certificate that they completed the course. The driver must have in his or her immediate possession a copy of the original golf cart safety education certificate anytime driving the golf cart.
Any person operating a low-speed vehicle (LSV) must have in their possession a valid driver license. An LSV must also be registered and insured with Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability.
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.