Utah Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Last updated on January 29th, 2017

This is an in-depth guide to Utah Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Utah’s laws.

Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.

Is License and Registration a Requirement? For Golf Carts, No (but you may be required to purchase a permit). For Low Speed Vehicles, Yes.

General Federal Law for Golf Carts:

Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.

The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.

 

Utah Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)

“Golf cart” means a motor vehicle that:

  • is designed for transportation by players on a golf course
  • has not less than three wheels in contact with the ground
  • has an unladen weight of less than 1,800 pounds
  • is designed to operate at a speed of not more than 25 miles per hour
  • is designed to carry not more than six persons including the driver

“Golf cart” does not include a low-speed vehicle or an off-highway vehicle.

Registration
Registration is not required, but you may be required to purchase a permit and display a sticker or indicia that shows you have the permit.

Insurance Requirements
Insurance may be required. Contact your local municipality for information regarding this.

Equipment Requirements

If operated on any specified highway under Subsection (1), a golf cart shall be equipped with:

  • head lamps, tail lamps, and turn signal lamps
  • stop lamps
  • reflex reflectors, one on the rear of the vehicle and one on the left and right side and as far to the rear of the vehicle as practical
  • a parking brake
  • a braking system in compliance with the provisions of Section 41-6a-1623 found here
  • a serial number for permitting purposes under Subsection (1)(a) found here

The provisions of Subsection (3)(a)(i) do not apply if the golf cart is not operated during hours of darkness.

Other Notes

Except to cross a highway at an intersection, a golf cart may not be operated on a highway with a posted speed limit of more than 25 miles per hour.

A person may not operate a golf cart on a highway without displaying on the rear of the golf cart a slow-moving vehicle identification emblem that complies with the Society of 243 Automotive Engineers standard SAE J943.

 

Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)

Low Speed Vehicles are for use on roads with speed limits of 35MPH or less and must be registered with valid license plates. A driver’s license is also required.

A low-speed vehicle is considered a motor vehicle for title, registration, and uniform fee assessment requirements. It is designed for operation at speeds of not more than 25 miles per hour and has a capacity of not more than four passengers, including the driver.

A low-speed vehicle may not be operated if structurally altered from the original manufacturer’s design, and cannot be operated on a highway with a posted speed of more than 35 miles per hour. Low-speed vehicles are exempt from county emissions requirements.

The following is required for LSVs:

  • 4 wheels
  • Electrically powered
  • 20 mph – 25 mph
  • Headlamps
  • Turn Signals
  • Tail lamps
  • Stop lamps
  • Reflectors – one red on each side to the rear
  • Mirrors – Must have a mirror on the drivers side of the vehicle and at least one additional mirror located on either the passengers side or in the center of the vehicle (a rearview mirror) that must reflect a distance of at least 200 feet
  • Parking Brake
  • Windshield
  • VIN
  • Seat belts

Requirements for Titling:

Requirements for Registration:

Disclaimer
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.

Recent News & Helpful Articles

video

A Look at the All New 2020 Tomberlin E-MERGE SS Coupe

Tomberlin prides itself on being a leader in the golf cart/LSV industry, and they’ve certainly...
video

The Tempo™ Walk by Club Car – Changing the Way You Walk the Golf Course

One of the biggest hits at The 2019 PGA Show in Orlando, FL this year...
Club Car Onward 6 Passenger

Club Car Onward Moves Upward To 6 Passenger Build

Most golf carts we see are on a golf course and offer two standard seats...
How to clean your golf cart windshield

What should I use to clean my golf cart windshield? (Video)

What should I use to clean my golf cart windshield? Looking to clean your windshield on...
video

An In-Depth View of the NEW Yamaha UMAX Rally™ 2+2 (Video)

Yamaha turned some heads at the 2019 PGA Show by unveiling their brand new UMAX...