Louisiana Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Last updated on December 29th, 2016

PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.

This is an in-depth guide to Louisiana Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Louisiana’s laws.

Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.

Is License and Registration a Requirement? Yes for both LSVs and Golf Carts. They both must also carry limited liability insurance just like a motor vehicle would.

NOTE: You will be seeing the term “parish” quite a bit in this article. Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes in the same way that 48 other states of the United States are divided into counties. So just think of parishes as counties.

General Federal Law for Golf Carts:

Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.

The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.

 

Louisiana Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)

Louisiana defines a golf cart as an electric four wheeled vehicle originally intended for use off-road on golf courses and other green spaces and whose maximum speed is twenty-five miles per hour.

The use of golf carts on public roads or streets are prohibited except as follows:

  • A golf cart may be operated only upon a parish road that has been designated by a parish, or a municipal street that has been designated by a municipality, for use by a golf cart. Upon a designation that a golf cart may be operated on a designated road or street, the responsible governmental entity shall post appropriate signage indicating that the operation is authorized.
  • A golf cart may be used to cross a part of a state highway where a golf course is constructed on both sides of the state highway if the Department of Transportation and Development has issued a permit for the crossing.

No person shall operate a golf cart upon a parish road or municipal street without a valid driver’s license.

 

Requirements for Titling your Golf Cart

The following is required for titling your golf cart:

  • A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV 1799)
  • Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (new/unregistered vehicle), title, or an affidavit of physical inspection performed by a full-time Peace Officer Standards and Training (P.O.S.T.), certified law enforcement officer, who has been certified by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, to inspect motor vehicles.
  • Itemized invoice from dealer to purchaser or original notarized bill of sale or invoice (new/unregistered) or current certificate of title assigned before a notary by seller to purchaser, with the properly released lien, if applicable.
  • Original or copy of properly completed UCC-1 form, or other security agreement, if a lien is to be recorded
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • A statement (attached) from the owner indicating:
    • that the golf cart contains all equipment required for use as indicated above.
    • the owner is aware that the vehicle shall be operated only by a licensed driver.
    • the golf cart may be operated only upon a parish road that has been designated by a parish or a municipal street that has been designated by a municipality for use by a golf cart. A golf cart may be used to cross a part of a state highway where a golf course is constructed on both sides of the state highway if the Department of Transportation and Development has issued a permit for the crossing.
    • Applicable fees (title, handling, recordation fee)
    • Applicable sales/use tax

 

Equipment Required

  • Any golf cart operated upon any roadway or municipal street shall be equipped with the minimum motor vehicle equipment appropriate for motor vehicle safety including:
    • efficient brakes
    • reliable steering apparatus
    • safe tires
    • rear view mirror
    • red reflective warning devices in both the front and rear of the vehicle
    • front and rear turn signal lamps
    • tail lamps
    • brake lamps
    • headlamps
    • vehicle identification number or serial number

A parish or municipal government may enact an ordinance relating to golf cart operation and may require equipment move extensive than indicated above, however, the list indicated above will be the only equipment required to title the vehicle.

Requirements for Reclassifying a Qualifying Vehicle as a Golf Cart

  • A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV 1799), including section D on the reverse side of the form
  • Original Title
  • A statement (attached) from the owner indicating:
    • that the golf cart contains all equipment required for use as indicated above.
    • the owner is aware that the vehicle shall be operated only by a licensed driver.
    • the golf cart may only be used upon a parish road that has been designated by a parish or a municipal street that has been designated by a municipality for use by a golf cart. A golf cart may be used to cross a part of a state highway where a golf course is constructed on both sides of the state highway if the Department of Transportation and Development has issued a permit for the crossing.
    • Applicable fees (title and handling)

 

Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)

A “low-speed vehicle” is a four wheeled, vehicle with a maximum speed of not less than twenty miles per hour but not more than twenty-five miles per hour and is equipped with the following minimum motor vehicle equipment appropriate for vehicle safety as required by 49 C.F.R. 571.500 and by Louisiana statute:

  • headlamps
  • front and rear turn signal lamps
  • tail lamps
  • stop lamps
  • reflex reflectors (one on each side as far rear as possible and one on the rear)
  • exterior mirror on driver’s side
  • exterior mirror on passenger’s side or interior mirror
  • parking brake
  • braking for each wheel
  • windshield
  • windshield wiper
  • speedometer
  • odometer
  • seatbelt installed at each designated seat
  • 17 digit vehicle identification number

The following documents must be submitted:

  • A completed vehicle application form (DPSMV 1799).
  • Manufacturer’s statement of origin (MSO). A manufacturer certification can be a statement on the certificate of origin indicating that the vehicle conforms to and meets all federal regulations under Title 49 CFR 571.500 (see above)
  • In lieu of an MSO, a NHTSA approved Registered Importer’s certification.
  • Itemized invoice from dealer indicating the make, year, model, body style, and vehicle identification number
  • Odometer disclosure statement
  • Original or copy of UCC-1 form (financing statement) or other security agreement, if a lien is to be recorded
  • Applicable fees and taxes
  • Proof of current liability insurance or other form of liability security

 

HELPFUL LINKS

www.legis.la.gov
www.law.justia.com
web01.dps.louisiana.gov
www.one.nhtsa.gov

INDUSTRY NEWS

STAR EV SELECTS FLOW-RITE FOR BATTERY WATERING SYSTEM

Flow-Rite, the leader in the design and manufacturing of fluid control devices for lead-acid batteries, will now supply its state-of-the-art Pro-Fill™ Onboard Battery Watering...

CLUB CAR LAUNCHES ALL NEW ELECTRIC TRUCK

The Club Car Current has been designed from the ground up for low-speed logistics and cargo services to fill the gap between full-sized trucks...

RED HAWK PROMOTES ZARSONA TO MARYLAND WAREHOUSE GM

Red Hawk is proud to announce the promotion of Neil Zarsona to General Manager of its flagship warehouse distribution operation in Baltimore. In four...

DISTRICT MANAGER ANNOUNCEMENTS FOR DIRECT SALES TERRITORIES

KENNESAW, GA (May 12, 2021) — Yamaha Golf-Car Company is pleased to announce two new additions to the Direct Sales team, responsible for golf...

U.S. BATTERY MANUFACTURING AND DELTA-Q TECHNOLOGIES PARTNER IN BATTERY COMPATIBILITY PROGRAM

CORONA, CA —U.S. Battery Manufacturing and Delta-Q Technologies have partnered together for a new program called ‘Charged by Delta-Q’. The program provides tools that...

E-Z-GO® INTRODUCES LIBERTY

First Personal Transportation Vehicle to Offer Four Forward-Facing Seats in Compact, Golf Car-Sized Footprint AUGUSTA, GA (June 1, 2021) — E-Z-GO, a Textron Specialized Vehicles...

Disclaimer
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.

Recent News & Helpful Articles

Cape Coral Florida is considering new city ordinances for golf cars

According to WinkNews.com, the Cape Coral City Council is considering a ban to community members...
Golf Cart Shipping

Tips and Advice for Shipping your Golf Cart

How to Get Your Golf Cart Across the Country Without Having to Leave Your House ...
Golf Cart Dealer

Golf Cart Repair Near Me | Find a Local Golf Car Dealer

As a golf cart owner, you want your golf cart in tip-top condition. To achieve...
Club Car Precedent Review

Club Car Precedent 48V Intermittent Problem

Club Car Precedent 48v Intermittent Problem Question: I have a 2012 Club Car Precedent 48v electric...
how Much should I pay for a golf cart

How Much Do Golf Carts Cost? Find 2020 Golf Cart Prices Here

Overall, Golf Cart prices can range anywhere between $1,000 for a Used Golf Cart and...