Nevada Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Last updated on January 3rd, 2017

PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.

This is an in-depth guide to Nevada Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Nevada’s laws.

Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.

Is License and Registration a Requirement? For LSVs Yes. For Golf Carts, No, however, a Nevada Golf Cart Permit is required in counties where the population is 700,000 or more.

General Federal Law for Golf Carts:

Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.

The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.

 

Nevada Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)

Registration
Golf Carts do not require registration, however, if the county where the golf cart will be located has a population of 700,000 or more, a Nevada golf cart permit is required as well as pass inspection at a DMV VIN Inspection Station (at Full-Service Offices). You must also provide a Nevada Evidence of Insurance card at registration.

Insurance Requirements
Again, this only applies if the golf cart is located in a county of 700,000 or more. Minimum insurance requirements for Golf Cart owners is liability insurance with $10,000 in property damage and $15,000 in bodily injury.

Required Equipment
Golf carts must have working headlights, tail lamps, reflectors, stop lamps, an emblem or placard for slow moving vehicles, a mirror, and brakes.

 

Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)

  • As used in this section, “low-speed vehicle” means a motor vehicle:
    1. That is 4-wheeled;
    2. The speed of which that is attainable in 1 mile is more than 20 miles per hour and not more than 25 miles per hour on a paved level surface;
    3. The gross vehicle weight rating of which is less than 3,000 pounds; and
    4. That complies with the standards for safety of such a vehicle set forth in Federal Motor Safety Standard No. 500 at 49 C.F.R. §571.500.
  • If registered, a low-speed vehicle may be operated upon a highway where the posted speed limit is 35 miles per hour or less. A person shall not operate a low-speed vehicle upon a highway where the posted speed limit is greater than 35 miles per hour, except to cross such a highway at an intersection.

LSVs may look like a golf-cart to the casual observer, but is actually a motor vehicle requiring the same registration requirements as vehicles including insurance, taxes and emission inspections.

LSVs must be inspected at a DMV VIN inspection station or by a peace officer prior to its first registration. Here is the Vehicle Inspection Certificate (VP 015)

INDUSTRY NEWS

The PGA Merchandise Show Shifts to an All-Virtual Format for 2021

NORWALK, Conn. (Oct. 21, 2020) – PGA Golf Exhibitions, in partnership with the PGA of America, announced today the shift to an all-virtual format...

BINTELLI RELEASED BEYOND SERIES OF LOW SPEED VEHICLES

Charleston, SC (June 08, 2020) – For the last two years, Bintelli has been hard at work developing its vision of a new line...

MIAMI CORPORATION ACQUIRES VICAR INTERNATIONAL

We are excited to announce that Vicar International will be joining the Miami Corporation family of products. Miami Corp. is a leading distributor with...

FULLRIVER BATTERY MANUFACTURER CHALLENGES LITHIUM WITH A LONG-LIFE, SUSTAINABLE OPTION

FullRiver Battery based in Camarillo, CA announces the release of its new long-life batteries, the EGL Series.  Purpose-built for the rigors of small electric...

RELION BATTERY JOINS 1% FOR THE PLANET – GIVES BACK TO THE ENVIRONMENT

Leading global lithium battery provider, RELiON Battery, vows to donate 1% of annual sales to environmental causes. Rock Hill, SC (July 30, 2020) – Today,...

GREEN ENERGY BATTERY COMPANY ANNOUNCES PARTNERSHIP WITH STAR EV

We are very pleased to announce that Green Energy Battery Co., Ltd., a leading Lithium Battery Manufacturer, and Star EV, the PTV leader, has...

Disclaimer
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.

Recent News & Helpful Articles

how Much should I pay for a golf cart

How Much Do Golf Carts Cost? Find 2020 Golf Cart Prices Here

Overall, Golf Cart prices can range anywhere between $1,000 for a Used Golf Cart and...
Tomberlin E-MERGE GT and E6

Tomberlin Introduces New E-MERGE GT & E-MERGE E6 Models

Tomberlin announced that they have released two new models to their E-MERGE line of vehicles...

Club Car & Tomberlin Offer “90 Days No Pay” Incentive

In a world where the phrases “unprecedented times” and “unlike anything before” have become increasingly...

Now is the Time to Buy a Golf Cart and Ditch the Extra Car in the Garage

I get it...the climate of buying stuff right now is a tough debate. Markets are...
Club Car Onward Ice Storm

Baby It’s Cold Outside and Club Car is Adding to the Storm: The New Onward Ice Storm

With temperatures dropping and December already upon us, families all over this holiday-loving nation are...