North Carolina Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Last updated on December 18th, 2018

PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.

This is an in-depth guide to North Carolina Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining North Carolina’s laws.

Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? No State Law is Currently in Place.

Is License and Registration a Requirement? For both LSVs and Golf Carts, Yes. Liability insurance is also required.

General Federal Law for Golf Carts:

Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.

The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.

For more information on the federal laws pertaining to golf carts, please click here.

 

North Carolina Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws

Guidelines for Golf Carts and PTVs (Personal Transportation Vehicles)

You may only operate a golf cart during daylight hours. If your golf cart has two (2) headlights and two (2) taillights, it may be operated ANYTIME

A permitted golf cart may be operated ONLY on a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less. They may, however, cross an intersection where the speed limit is ABOVE 35 MPH.

The driver of the golf cart must be at least 16 years of age and hold a valid driver’s license. Driver must have with them the following:

  • The registration certificate issued by the department
  • Proof of liability insurance for the golf cart
  • Their driver’s license

See the official documentation for golf cart laws here.

UPDATE 12/18/18: Washington, NC is now Golf Cart Friendly

Guidelines for LSV (Low Speed Vehicle)

  • Reaches speeds of 20 MPH to 25 MPH.
  • Has a vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • Headlamps
  • Front and rear turn signals
  • Taillamps
  • Stop lamps
  • Reflex reflectors, red – one on each side and one on the rear
  • Exterior mirror on the driver side and an interior mirror or exterior mirror on passenger side
  • Parking brake
  • Windshield
  • Seatbelt for each designated seat
  • Not be operated on any roadway with a speed limit above 35 mph.

Any person operating a low-speed vehicle (LSV) must have in their possession a valid driver license. An LSV must also be registered and insured with Personal Injury Protection and Property Damage Liability.

INDUSTRY NEWS

Golf Cart Repair Near Me

American Landmaster Wins 3 National Awards For Their Website

AMERICAN LANDMASTER WINS 3 AWARDS FOR THEIR NEW ROBUST WEBSITE   American Landmaster won 3 awards from W3 awards for their innovative website that launched mid...

YAMAHA GOLF-CAR COMPANY 2021 TRADE SHOWS SHIFT TO VIRTUAL PLATFORMS

YAMAHA GOLF-CAR COMPANY 2021 TRADE SHOWS SHIFT TO VIRTUAL PLATFORMS Kennesaw, Ga. (January 20, 2021) — Yamaha Golf-Car Company is once again excited to showcase their industry-leading products...

YAMAHA OUTDOOR ACCESS INITIATIVE’S 2020 CONTRIBUTIONS SURPASS $250,000

Program Supports Efforts Protecting Access to Land for Outdoor Recreation Across U.S. MARIETTA, GA (Nov. 17, 2020) (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) – Yamaha Motor Corp., USA, announces...

PRO CHARGING SYSTEMS LAUNCHES THEIR NEWEST ADDITION, THE EAGLE PERFORMANCE SERIES AUTO DETECT BATTERY...

From golf carts to bass boats, scissor lifts to floor scrubbers and everything in between, PRO Charging Systems manufactures chargers that help extend battery...

HI-PERFORMANCE DESIGNS, INC. TRANSITIONS TO THE GOLF CAR INDUSTRY WITH A WEALTH OF EXPERIENCE

Hi-Performance Designs, Inc. was formed in 2004 and has a team of wheel professionals that have been dedicated to designing and building alloy wheels...

US BATTERY’S VICE PRESIDENT, SALES & MARKETING MICHAEL J. COAD RETIRES AFTER 16 YEARS...

Corona, Ca — Michael J. Coad is set to retire at the end of December as U.S. Battery’s VP of Sales & Marketing, after...

Disclaimer
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.

Recent News & Helpful Articles

Golf Cart Dealer

Golf Cart Repair Near Me | Find a Local Golf Car Dealer

As a golf cart owner, you want your golf cart in tip-top condition. To achieve...
Club Car Precedent Review

Club Car Precedent 48V Intermittent Problem

Club Car Precedent 48v Intermittent Problem Question: I have a 2012 Club Car Precedent 48v electric...
how Much should I pay for a golf cart

How Much Do Golf Carts Cost? Find 2020 Golf Cart Prices Here

Overall, Golf Cart prices can range anywhere between $1,000 for a Used Golf Cart and...
Tomberlin E-MERGE GT and E6

Tomberlin Introduces New E-MERGE GT & E-MERGE E6 Models

Tomberlin announced that they have released two new models to their E-MERGE line of vehicles...

Club Car & Tomberlin Offer “90 Days No Pay” Incentive

In a world where the phrases “unprecedented times” and “unlike anything before” have become increasingly...