Oregon Golf Cart & Low Speed Vehicle Laws
Last updated on December 29th, 2016
Last updated on December 29th, 2016
PLEASE NOTE: Golf Cart Laws may vary from City to City, so please be sure to check with your local municipality in regards to the laws in your area. We are in the process of gathering laws by municipality for you, however, this is a huge undertaking and does take time. Thank you.
This is an in-depth guide to Oregon Golf Cart & Low-Speed Vehicle Laws. We’ve created this guide to help you, the consumer, in determining Oregon’s laws.
Is this state Medium Speed Vehicle friendly? Yes. It must meet the vehicle safety standards as provided in OAR 737-010-0020 (see below) and the Medium-Speed Electric Vehicle Certification, Form 7213, must be completed as well.
Is License and Registration a Requirement? For LSVs and Medium Speed Vehicles, yes. For Golf Carts, no.
Under current NHTSA interpretations and regulations, so long as golf cars and other similar vehicles are incapable of exceeding 20 miles per hour, they are subject to only state and local requirements regarding safety equipment. However, if these vehicles are originally manufactured so that they can go faster than 20 miles per hour, they are treated as motor vehicles under Federal law.
The standard requires low-speed vehicles to be equipped with headlamps, stop lamps, turn signal lamps, taillamps, reflex reflectors, parking brakes, rearview mirrors, windshields, seat belts, and vehicle identification numbers.
Find out more information on federal laws pertaining to golf carts and low speed vehicles here.
There are no set requirements in regards to mandatory safety equipment pertaining to golf carts.
A road authority, on any of its own highways that are located adjacent to a golf course, may permit the operation of golf carts between the golf course and the place where golf carts are parked or stored or located within or bounded by a real estate development.
It seems that the laws pertaining to golf carts on public roads are maintained by the local authorities. Reach out to your local municipality for more information.
A Low-Speed Vehicle is as follows:
An LSV must also be equipped with the following:
A medium-speed electric vehicle must Comply with the following Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) found in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 49, Part 571, 2008 edition.
A Medium-Speed Vehicle must also have the following equipment:
Lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.
Theft protection and rollaway prevention standards.
Light vehicle brake systems.
Door locks and door retention components.
Seat belt assemblies. A Type 1 or Type 2 seat belt assembly conforming to FMVSS No. 209, installed at each designated seating position, and whose mounting complies with FMVSS No. 210.
Roof crush resistance.
Electric-powered vehicles: electrolyte spillage and electrical shock protection.
A windshield of AS–1 or AS–5 composition, that conforms to the American National Standards Institute’s ‘‘Safety Code for Safety Glazing Materials for Glazing Motor Vehicles Operating on Land Highway,’’ Z–26.1–1977, January 28, 1977, as supplemented by Z26.1a, July 3, 1980.
Comply with the federal Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) requirements found in 49 CFR Part 565.
Be equipped with a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 200 feet, but no horn shall emit an unreasonably loud or harsh sound.
Be fully enclosed and may not be an open-body type vehicle.
For information on titling your LSV or MSV visit the Oregon DMV’s Website Here.
Although each of these state guides gives a thorough approach to the golf cart laws in your state, it is recommended that you perform the research on your own and reach out to your local municipality.