Georgia recently jumped on the hands-free bandwagon. Now drivers must use hands-free devices while driving not only automobiles, but also golf carts.
This new law is to go into effect on July 1, 2018. Once the law is in effect, drivers may not hold a phone, tablet or any other telecommunications device with their hands or other parts of their bodies while operating their golf cart. They may not write, send or read texts, or emails, or watch or record videos while driving. GPS devices are allowed as long as they are mounted on the vehicle and not held.
DEALER LOCATOR: Find a Golf Cart Dealer in Georgia
Drivers must be properly parked when using their devices. Lt. Brad Williams of the Peachtree City Police Department stated, “We would consider ‘properly parked’ for purposes of the cart path to be pulled off the pavement of the path with the parking brake on. If you’re on a road in a cart, then park next to the curb.”
Offenders who are caught using their phones for non-emergency circumstances will be fined $50 for the first offense, $100 for the second offense, and $150 for the third offense.